Brewing Thoughts

August 13, 2007

Comfort Food – For Better or Worse (long)

Filed under: Food,General — jidd @ 12:21 pm

So, Courtney has been out of town since Thursday for a convention, and I’m home sick with the dogs (and the retarded cat). Other than some projects around the house, I didn’t have any real plans. On her way out, Courtney had offhandedly mentioned that I might try doing something with all the fruit in the house.

Lets see, pears, nectarines, and plums. I’m sick, so I’m not feeling like anything fussy that involves rolling out dough, as that seem entirely too strenuous. So clafouti it is. I found a recipe for an almond-pear clafouti that sounded pretty good. Peel, core and slice up the pears. Toss them in a bit of lemon juice. Whip up a batter of eggs, milk, butter, vanilla, etc… Throw the fruit in a pan, pour in the batter, throw some almonds on top and….

almondpearclafouti.jpg

Almond Pear Clafouti

It’s tasty, but not my favorite. It turned out a bit too almondy for my liking. Oh well. That was Sunday.

Monday, home sick again. Courtney’s still gone. I’m lying in bed wondering what’s in the house for breakfast when it dawns of me: biscuits and gravy. What can possibly be more comforting for a sick boy with southern roots like me than homemade biscuits and gravy. I even have buttermilk in the house for once.

I know there isn’t any sausage for the gravy, but surely I can get by with bacon, no? And thus began the most non-comforting biscuits & gravy expedition ever. Okay, so get the bacon on the griddle while I start to work on the biscuits.

Flour, buttermilk, salt, shortening, baking soda, baking powder. Baking powder? Where is the flipping baking powder? Crap, still at my mother-in-laws house. Some quick thinking and I remember that baking powder is nothing more than baking soda, corn starch, and, and… and?! Google kindly informs me that it is Cream of Tartar, which I have. Whew, that was close.

I get the biscuits mixed and ready to roll out, when I reach for the flour to dust out my rolling area. Double crap, I’ve been using the self-rising flour all this time instead of the regular. Hmm.. I’m either going to have super-fluffy cake biscuits, or something will go terribly wrong. Oh well, no turning back now. Roll them, cut them out with my finest biscuit cutter, and throw them in the oven.

Time to get back to the gravy. The bacon is done, crumbled, and goes into a skillet, with the fat and some flour. Regular flour this time. I reach for the milk. Wha?? Buttermilk!! Where’s the… Crappity crap crap crapping crappyton. I realize at this point that I’m just not having biscuits & gravy this morning. I know it won’t work, but I go ahead and add the buttermilk to the bacon and flour simmering away in my skillet. It bubbles away for a few minutes and, as disgusting as it looks, I give it a taste. There is an underlying hint of gravy, but it is masked by greasy tartness. This is not at all like grandma used to make.

Meanwhile, the biscuits come out of the oven, and while not spectacular, they are passable. For breakfast, I have flat biscuits and honey, with a side of bacon. Oh, and one helluva mess to clean up. Why am I not feeling comforted by this?

3 Comments »

  1. That’s a bummer man. Kitchen experiments gone wrong are not fun, especially when you’re hungry and when you’re sick.

    Comment by Adam — August 13, 2007 @ 3:27 pm | Reply

  2. and a mess to clean up? sweet.

    Comment by ed — August 13, 2007 @ 5:50 pm | Reply

  3. sucks about the b&g, but that fruit thingy looks wonderful.

    Comment by timidvenus — August 14, 2007 @ 7:45 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

